Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 4/5 June 14, 2020
    * These are a wonderful substitute for those of us on a very low carb diet (e.g., keto). They don't taste like much right out of the can and are a little hard, so I simmer them for ~20 min on the stove with some vegetable or chicken bouillon paste and they are ready to go! Not many brick-and-mortar stores carry these, so I was happy to find them on Netrition.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 06, 2020
    * Great substitute for black beans
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 02, 2019
    * They don't taste great on their own but are great in soup.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 02, 2018
    * These are about the only beans you can eat any real quantity of on a low carb diet. That is, if the nutritional information is correct...its a little hard to believe the net carb count on them. But there is absolutely nothing to compare them to. Apparently these are the only canned black soybeans on the market...I haven't found any other brand.

    They are unsalted, so they are almost flavorless out of the can. You have to step on them with significant salt and spices, etc.. Great for someone on a super low sodium diet though...but thats not me.

    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 05, 2017
    * I am very impressed with these beans. They are a little bit hard, so I cooked them for a little while and made Chili with them. Much better than having no beans at all.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 24, 2009
    * These are a great option for low-carb dieters and diabetics who miss eating beans. However, they do have a harder, almost crumbly texture compared to other canned beans, so they take more cooking to become tender. This is why I gave them a 4 rather than a 5.

    Their texture is not a big deal for chili or soups, especially if you add them early so they have plenty of time to cook. Also, since they are not starchy, you can't rely on them to help thicken your sauce. You'll have to cook it down more or use some Thick'n'Thin.

    But if you want to make re fried beans or a dip, plan on cooking them a long time before trying to mash them. If you don't cook them long enough, they won't mash well by hand. (Maybe you could use a blender or food processor for this...I haven't tried that, since I usually want a semi-chunky texture.)

    As others have noted, they also are a little bland straight out of the can, and take more seasoning than other canned beans. But so far I've been able to get them to taste good in every recipe I've tried.

    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 06, 2007
    * Great addition for chili, very filling and taste great.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 28, 2007
    * As long as you use these in a flavorful recipe, these are great. They do not have as much flavor as regular beans, so I would never eat them plain, but they add variety to a low carb diet.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 29, 2007
    * I made baked beans with these. I added sweet and low brown sugar (1 teaspoon), onion flakes, a slice of bacon on top and low carb ketchup on the bacon. Baked it for 45 minutes and was thoroughly pleased with the results. Did not thicken up but was tasty and very low carb. This is a buy again product.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 27, 2007
    * A great option for low carbers. I came close to giving it a 5, but, in truth, it's not quite as good as kidney beans on my tostada, but it's close. Good enough I've made the switch & would recommend it to others!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 October 02, 2006
    * These are delicious and they make a wonderful low-carb chili! Even my picky teenager eats them!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2020 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.