Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 1/5 January 07, 2020
    * These were awful. They are not like mashed potatoes at all, they have a horrible after taste and are very pasty. Extremely disappointed!! I will not purchase them again.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 December 10, 2019
    * Not sure what was removed from this, but whatever is left, as a reduced carb option, is pretty inedible. It doesn't mix up light or fluffy. It is like school paste, in texture, and a tasteless mush, in flavor.

    You get no sense of potato, and, in this "flavor," there is also no hint of cheddar, or bacon. It's just flavorless gunk, like a breakfast cereal gone wrong.

    So, this was a total miss, for me, unfortunately. And, I'm a fan of instant potatoes, as a quick meal addition, or, at least I was, before keto. Side dishes are tough to find, that are keto friendly, which is why I was excited to try this.

    But, flavor was hideous and texture was gross. Will not buy again.

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Cheddar and Bacon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 September 07, 2019
    * Did not like them very much. Maybe some with butter and sour cream and bacon added would help me like them!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 November 26, 2017
    * Yuck!! Weird smell and taste. Mashed cauliflower is better.
    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 November 05, 2017
    * Not even close. Might as well go for the real thing. It had an odd taste but it might be good for thickening chowder.
    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 June 05, 2014
    * Terrible. These are very expensive and I can best describe them as flour and water gravy with sand in it. I would rather go without potatoes or cheat once in a while rather than use this. Too bad I was stupid and ordered a bunch of them all at once. Maybe I can add them to the Carbquick and patch my driveway.
    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 May 07, 2014
    * These are awful, I ordered them to eat with a roast from the crock pot because i was tired of cauliflower mashed. The cauliflower is a dream compared to these. They are quick and easy to make but that's all the good I can say about them.There is an overwhelming salty taste (nothing resembling garlic) to these and I couldn't finish them even after they were drenched in gravy. I don't recommend them, buyer beware.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 August 18, 2013
    * I ordered these with the highest of hopes, I have really liked the other Dixie Diner products. These were horrible! I wondered if I got a bad batch, they were pumpkin colored, grainy, and tasted terrible. I got 2 bites in, and gave up!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 June 06, 2013
    * I really really wanted to like this since I am a major mashed potatoes lover, but I have to be honest. It was gross! It was so dry and tasted awful. I ended up adding instant potato flakes which I didnt want to do since the reason I bought this was to get that "real" potato taste.
    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 February 01, 2013
    * I was really hopeful these would be a nice substitute for instant taters. I knew going in that it would not taste the same as the real stuff, but I was so terribly disappointed that it wasn't even edible. Maybe I followed the instructions wrong? I got the cheddar and bacon flavored kind and you could taste that...it was 'good', but the texture was like flour. It tasted to me like I was eating flavored flour mixed with liquid. I ended up throwing away everything. I will not try these again. I'm completely turned off.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Cheddar and Bacon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 November 13, 2012
    * Nasty. Could not even finish one serving of the classic flavor.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 November 01, 2012
    * Disapointed. I ordered this product hoping I could use it for my thanksgiving dinner. Good thing I tried it before I did, I didn't find it to taste like mashed potatoes at all. It taste more like mashed turnips or califlower. Which I do like, but rather have them fresh. The texture is also weird.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 October 09, 2012
    * I have NO idea what everyone else is doing to their mashers, but mine tasted like fake, gross mashed plastic-y cotton. It was digusting. I would much rather puree some cauliflower. Yuck!
    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 July 11, 2010
    * I only tried the parmesan garlic ones, and I ordered several packs because of all the rave reviews. I have tried everything to make them better. The disgusting flavor or the potatoes overpowers whatever or however much you put on them. I eat anything. I wasn't allowed to be picky as a child. These are the most disgusting thing I have tasted to date on low carb. I could get by with whatever consistency and texture they had, but the taste will keep these out of my pantry forever! I threw away my last two packets. Me and my partner have tried them several times. Highly unrecommended!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 June 02, 2010
    * I have liked most of the low carb products I have tried, but to be honest, these were disgusting. I made one pouch, tried adding a ton of butter, even sour cream. The consistency actually turned my stomach. I agree with other reviewers that it had the smell and consistency of paste. Glad I only bought one package to try.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 March 11, 2010
    * I have been pleased with the other Dixie Diner products I've tried so far and had high hopes for this one. However I have to say I can simply do without potatoes easier than I can stomach these. And I have no sense of smell from birth so my taste is not as strong as that of most people. These have a gritty texture that gives the impression of what it is like to eat ground up chalk. My wife agreed on this and she can smell. We each ate about 3 small bites and threw the rest out. I'm amazed at the good reviews and sympathize with the bad ones. We won't be cooking the second of the 2 pouches.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 January 28, 2010
    * I don't understand all the rave reviews, these tasted terrible to me! The texture was pasty and thin at the same time. The taste was horrible, I bought the classic and tried to save it by adding cheese, butter, and herbs but even that didn't help much. I only took a few bites and threw the rest out.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 October 09, 2009
    * Sorry but it was terrible, It was extremely salty, and tasted nothing like mashed potato. I followed the instructions for the microwave. I'll stick to the mashed cauliflower,as an alternative, It is a better choice for me.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 May 17, 2009
    * I thought these instant mashers tasted like sawdust. What I miss most on this low carb diet is potatoes. This product doesn't even resemble them. We buy many low carb products and most are as good as their high carb counterparts, but this is not one of them.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 August 07, 2008
    * Absolutely horrible!!! Extremely salty, smelt and tasted like paste. Never again!!!! Eeek - I still can't get that taste or smell out of my mind.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 July 04, 2008
    * One word..........YUCK!!! I was really looking forward to these as a side dish. I am NOT a picky eater by any means. Usually I will go ahead and eat something. These were horrible! They were grainy in texture and the flavor was really bad! I threw them out and didn't even eat the helping on my plate (and I am NOT one to waste food!). I made them as directed on the stove top. I did not add any additional ingredients other than what was called for. I am not sure what potatoes the other reviewers ate, but I don't think they could have been these!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 April 21, 2008
    * I am sorry to disagree, but I thought they were terrible. I only purchased them because of the great reviews, but I strongly disagree that they are good.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 April 04, 2008
    * Oh, I was so disappointed! The taste is horrible. It has a cardboard/chemical after taste. URG!!! I wish I didn't buy 2 packs!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 March 10, 2008
    * I was sooooo excited when I ordered these. The reviews sounded so good! But this was awful! It was worse than the very cheapest tv dinner mashed potatoes, plus the chive flavor was a sickly green color, maybe would be fun for St. Patty's day! Even covered in gravy, no one could eat them. Very disappointed!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 February 02, 2008
    * After trying some of their low carb baking mixes I was looking forward to a pile of mashed potatoes. It was like there was a party in my mouth, and nobody wiped their feet. If you were the kid in school that ate paste, then you might like this nasty goo. I had not tried the flavored mashers but do not think I will risk it now.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 December 29, 2007
    * So nasty I wanted to poke my eyes out! Too bad I purchased so many.
    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 December 26, 2007
    * This product looks good. When I tasted them I had to spit the bite out...that is how awful they tasted to me. Just had a horrible texture and flavor to me.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 June 05, 2007
    * GROSS! I thought it tasted like paste. My husband can eat just about anything and he couldn't eat this stuff.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 June 04, 2007
    * I have to admit, these were pretty bad. I got the Classic flavor, figuring I could add my own seasonings. I tried chives, sour cream, parmesan, butter, salt and pepper. Nothing could make this product taste good. The texture was strange too. I definitely didn't feel like I was eating mashed potatoes and I'm sorry I wasted my money trying this one out, as it was pretty pricey for what you get.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 January 14, 2007
    * We've been low carbing for 4 years. We have tried hundreds of LC products, and this one ranks near the bottom. Though edible, it had the texture and taste of wallpaper paste. If you’re looking for a mashed potato substitute, my advice would be to stick with mashed cauliflower.
    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 December 08, 2006
    * Ok... I am one of those people that has an iron stomach and can basically eat anything (i love food). I was very disappointed in the carb mashers. The taste was awful, very powdery tasting... Cheese mixed in couldnt mask the taste. I agree with another reviewer, stick to cauliflower and buy other great tasting stuff on the site.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 November 03, 2006
    * This was the worst tasting product. We ate 2 bites and that was about it - you are better off eating cauliflower mock mashed potatoes.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 September 29, 2006
    * These are absolutely awful and a waste of money.
    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 September 28, 2006
    * I am a regular Netrition customer and have been 100% satisfied with all the low carb foods I have purchased with the exception of this product. These Instant Mashers are the worst low carb food I have ever tasted. Just the smell while preparing is enough to make you loose your appetite. They smell and taste like joint compound. Not a hint of sour creme and chive flavor. Save your money for the hundreds of other delicious low carb options available.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2020 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.