Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 4/5 May 29, 2020
    * I like these. A little salty, but a great low carb sub for potatoes!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 23, 2019
    * I used this to make a sheppard's pie, and it was actually pretty good, so i have ordered more to prepare on Thanksgiving. The texture is like potato, but slightly chewy to the tooth, as if you were eating something with protein powder, maybe. Not sure how to describe it, but it's subtle to me. I find it a decent replacement for potatoes when you combine it with something, or have a gravy. Not sure i would just eat it alone, though. The flavor is good.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 19, 2019
    * These are so good! I honestly couldnít tell the difference between these and regular instant potatoes. Donít add too much liquid because it ends up the consistency of grits. Also, donít add any salt or salted butter! These are salty enough. Just add your favorite flavors and thatís it. Totally recommend!
    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 29, 2019
    * Good product, donít like them left over.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 01, 2019
    * This could be really good, IF it weren't so SALTY. I about choked on the first bite due to the saltiness. So, I steamed up a large bowl of cauliflower, mashed it up and added it in. My first mistake was salted butter. Next time I will use unsalted. I added cream and water as directed. I bought the classic flavor. If you opt to use chicken broth, I strongly suggest you use unsalted broth. These have a great mashed potato like texture, the only issue I had was the saltiness. By adding the cauliflower and lots of pepper, it was pretty good. Maybe I just got a bad batch. I do like the product and I will continue to use it with mashed cauliflower, might try adding sour cream and chives, but not cheese or bacon, too much sodium.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 08, 2018
    * Very good flavor, has the consistency of mashed potatoes and probably comes as close to the flavor as possible. I ate this with some chicken I cooked and it was a great side dish!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Cheddar and Bacon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 22, 2018
    * So, I tend to not follow directions and in this case I think it worked out well. I eyeballed the butter (def used more than required ) mixed the cream with water and added all at same time and so on. I had some other instant flakes on hand just in case a. I messed up eyeballing and b. they were horrible. I did NOT have to use them. I def would buy this again and possibly even mix in (1) small mashed potato to make them even better. Anyhow, I must say these were so so with dinner last night... I will say though they are MUCH better the next day! Not sure why but the texture was 100x better being in the fridge and reheated. I def would buy this again and possibly even mix in (1) small mashed potato to make them even better while still keeping carbs fairly low. My guess is judging by the flavor of the classic it might be risky to get the flavored ones. Probably be better to just create the flavors you wish with fresh stuff!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 24, 2016
    * Okay first, these are sort of close to mashed potatoes although the texture is highly dependent on how it is prepared. I have so far made these using the microwave method and have enjoyed the sour cream and chive flavor and cheddar bacon. I will eventually get to the classic and garlic but for now, I realized a very good whisk is needed along with some slight modifications for a better texture. I used heavy cream, almond milk and about 2 tablespoons of full fat mayo. That made these smooth and creamy. Without the heavy cream and a good whisk the texture can be more like cream of wheat so just be aware of how its prepared. Adding cream cheese and/or sour cream may also be good. These are really good and will be using these as the replacement for mashed potatoes during holidays and more. There is only a slight blood sugar impact which makes these perfect for us Type 1 Diabetics.
    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 04, 2015
    * Okay. If you want low carb mashed potatoes, your really out of luck. There's no such thing. But if you want something to use in place of mashed potatoes, and you think of them as replacements, not low-carb versions of the real thing (our strategy with almost all such foods), these are great! Their biggest problem is texture. They are dry, floury, and pasty. That's the only reason they aren't rated 5.

    But it gets better. They grow on you. I'm used to them now and eat them when my wife wants the real thing. I sometimes will have a little of the "real thing" mixed in with them, which raises the carbs a bit but raises the flavor/texture quality even more, and it only takes a little of the other to make a great compromise. I have them mixed with mashed cauliflower, which is great.

    I also find that some cheese or something that serves in place of gravy makes them much better and have topped them with BBQ, chili, sloppy Joe-type stuff, ground turkey/beef in low-carb spaghetti sauce or Walden Farms BBQ sauce, to create a much better meal. This is the best way!!! Put some grilled veggies around it all and you have a meal. Open-face roast beef (traditionally served over mashed potatoes)? Yeah baby!

    I do think the flavor of the sour cream-chive best (I haven't tried the bacon-cheddar yet but just ordered some) but it does have a slight green color. Not a problem for me, but worth noting. If you are willing to get used to them, as we usually have to with low-carb foods, and be creative if you have a problem with them you can't get used to, they are definitely worth it, in my view.

    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 06, 2014
    * These definitely saved me over the Thanksgiving holiday! They do have a "powdery" after taste (not sure how else to describe this) but still yummy!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 25, 2014
    * Real potatoes are better, these stand up to all the other instant/flake brands though. I tried the garlic, made it with butter flavoring instead of butter and plain almond milk instead of cream. Came out maybe a little on the gritty side? But the taste is good. Not sure it is worth the price to purchase again...
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 06, 2013
    * These have been great! We used them to help keep Thanksgiving low carb and they were a hit. I've also used them to make shepherds pie and other such dishes. My husband actually liked the shepherds pie better with this then with normal instant mashed potatoes.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 14, 2013
    * Okay, these were pretty good. I ate them with an Atkins chopped steak and gravy. Good comfort food :) I love reading reviews here for the creative suggestions and recipes for using some of the products. So I made the mashers with chicken broth, the butter spray pumps BUT added some FF cream cheese and a bit of greek yogurt instead of heavy cream and butter. I sauteed chopped garlic and stirred that in. Turned out creamy and like others say good for "instant potatoes". I THINK I liked these better than the Carb Counters but only had them once. I'd like to try the garlicky parmesean next!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 13, 2012
    * I love this product. It fulfills my craving for potatoes in my low carb world. It never impacts my weight-loss or maintenance.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Cheddar and Bacon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 09, 2012
    * These mashers are a PERFECT substitute for the real thing. They keep me from craving or giving in to temptation by providing a good l/c alternative that satisfies! They can taste a wee bit dry or chalky, for lack of a better term, but a little tweaking usually takes care of that. Add a little more liquid, or butter, sour cream, cheese...whatever your personal taste desires. After the usual prep I usually just add a little smart balance to mine, and they're great.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 19, 2012
    * We're doing the Dukan Diet, and though the preparation instructions called for heavy cream (no-no) and butter (double no-no), we were able to substitute with pretty excellent results. We sauteed some minced garlic, and added a third of a cup of fat-free sour cream and about 6 I-Can't-Believe-It's-Not-Butter spray pumps. Stirred in a cup of boiling water and a masher packet, mixing until smooth. Then we mixed in some shredded soy cheddar cheese, and a handful of diced green onion, and served immediately. It was actually a pretty decent baked potato mash, though it did dry out as the meal progressed. It's definitely the best Dukan-friendly (if not explicitly Dukan-approved) carb-replacement we've found so far.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 28, 2011
    * The texture is just like other instant mashed potatoes. The flavor, as expected, is different. There definitely is the potato taste in these, but there is a bit of a different flavor that was a bit like cornmeal to me. They were still good and I would definitely order them again. I totally expected them to be bad and was very happy they were not.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 12, 2009
    * I tried the Garlicky Parmesan before and really didn't like it. Then I tried the Classic flavor and I used a little garlic salt in the mix.. I loved it!!! A little pasty, but since I can't have regular potatoes, this is the next best thing.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 15, 2008
    * This is a very tasty product and similar to real mashed potatoes. I spice mine up using some garlic, bacon, and cheddar and it is delicious.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 29, 2008
    * I really do enjoy these. They do have a slight graininess to them, however they are an excellent substitute for the real thing.

    The regular mashers are my faves because I make low carb gravy with them. Yummy!

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 30, 2008
    * OK, so they're not real mashed potatoes but my husband and I always say you can get used to anything. And, really, these are pretty good, especially if you add some butter, a few fresh herbs... This is my "go to" potato substitute.
    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 09, 2008
    * This is pretty decent. I buy the plain ones and add my own seasonings.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 07, 2008
    * A nice low carb alternative substitute for mashed potatoes. Good taste, acceptable texture. My favorite is the garlic parmesan but all flavors are top shelf. Reheats well in the microwave too.
    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 09, 2007
    * Very similar in texture and flavor of real mashed potatoes. It does satisfy the craving for potatoes. I give it a thumbs up.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 07, 2007
    * Have only tried the classic, and would highly recommend. You need to play with the consistency because they can sometimes come out too runny. I use this for special meals like Thanksgiving dinner. Gravy makes a nice addition. If you ever tried the old Ketatoes, you'd definitely give these a 5! If you are comparing to regular, instant potatoes, you would give them a 4.
    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 07, 2007
    * My husband loves mashed potatoes/gravy but we considered them off limits on a low carb diet. Not any more! I am very happy that I found this product. It is very tasty and an excellent low carb substitute for the "real thing". Hint - I found that adding a little extra whipping cream and or butter results in a creamier texture.
    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 01, 2007
    * I have eaten the original flavor, and it is the best low carb mashed potato product I've tried. It is made from potatoes. How do they strip the starch (carbs) from the potatoes?
    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 04, 2007
    * I rate this product a 4 out of 5. I believe Dixie Diner's "Instant Mashers" to be the best tasting product, compared to the real thing.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 13, 2007
    * As a dedicated low-carber who lost 70 lbs and kept it off for almost two years, I can tell you that these are great! The taste and texture were good and even my husband thought they would be a nice treat once in a while. For people who remember what potatoes actually taste like(!), these might not cut it, however. I will order them again, just for something different.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 30, 2007
    * My husband is a potato lover and hates any substitutes. But this one, he actually said it "wasn't that bad". He would eat it again. I, on the other hand can take or leave a real potato. As for me, this is the best low carb potato substitute I have tried in the past 4 years. I will buy this product again.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 December 29, 2006
    * Well they're not the "real" thing obviously, and I did used to like the Ketatoes better (more flavor and firmer texture), but I so miss mashed potatoes that I am grateful the Mashers exist and I enjoy them very much. I find that the garlicky parmesan flavor is by far the best and really very good and full of flavor (if you happen to like garlic that is. I do.)

    The regular flavor is kind of bland but can be greatly enhanced by either adding some mayo (not mixed in but a dollop on top so you can get a little with every bite), or a few drops of truffle oil (ditto). Okay, so the truffle oil is kind of pricey (about $10 for a smallish bottle) but a little goes a long way so it lasts a long time. Oh, and adding butter (or butter flavor) helps too!

    Dixie USA Carb Counters Instant Mashers
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2020 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.